Blog on Kurdistan & Kurds

For a United and Independent Kurdistan

About repositioning the blog

with 3 comments

Dear readers,

For the moment the blog receives a little more than 10 clicks per day at peak days, usually Wednesdays and Thursdays. In my opinion, having about 20 usual readers at this stage is a success. However, I am having difficulty in positioning the articles I am writing for this blog and I would like to share this with you.

In the beginning I wrote:

With this blog I wish to promote not only Kurdly thinking to fellow Kurds but also a free and independent Kurdistan to the world.

Now I am not quite sure if this statement corresponds to what I have observed after starting writing in English. First of all I discovered that there is strong intellectual ‘Kurdly thinking’ among English writing Kurds. Thus, my first claim fails and it has to be changed. Promoting “a free and independent Kurdistan to the world” sounds well to the ears but I realized, in the presence of, say, e-Kurd or other main news agencies of Kurds sounds a strong but funny claim from an individual unknown blogger.

Where should my articles stand in the English writing Kurdish internet world, which I like to say Kurdistan of Internet (Internet Kurdistan). Very apparently there are even many different attempts of further putting internet to the use of the Kurdish freedom struggle from both young generation and their a little bit older brothers and sisters. Where should my articles and the blog itself stand among these, which itself is a part of.

In short, I am having the difficulty of putting my various analysis into words. I cannot decide for a clear audience as the readers of the blog. Just to give you an example, I would like to write about the ‘seemingly conflict’ between Turkey and Israel, but to who and why?

May be as the reader you will say to yourself but this does not satisfy me as the writer. First of all, I do not like writing self-proving articles, this to mean the writer writes to return in time and claim he has foreseen what happened in the recent times of that future. This type of articles are the most useless to me. Instead, I like to write articles that create the calculated change in the targeted broad or limited audience, thus affects what’s happening and make themselves look ‘useless’ if read in the future.

Nonetheless, I will continue writing articles. I just need some time to decide clearly where this blog will position itself in terms of targeted audience. Once this issue solved and a new ‘statement’ written, there will be more periodical articles published. Periodical in the sense “following the events the blogger is interested in commenting”.

Keep visiting the blog time to time; perhaps once a week or every ten days to read what a fellow Kurd thinks about what’s going on in Kurdistan, its neighboring region and the world.

Written by M. Husedin

10 September 2011 at 12:45 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m a long-time reader of your blog (basically, from your first post, which I found through twitter). I’m subscribed to it via RSS and I think it’s an excellent tool that ensures people return to your blog when something new pops up (I’m subscribed to almost 600 feeds, so obviously, I couldn’t visit each of them on my own to check if something new was written). I encourage you to feature an RSS button more prominently and encourage people to subscribe. People are much more likely to visit your site again if they’re subscribed.
    I’m an Israeli with a passion for human rights in general and Kurdish human rights in particular. I think you shouldn’t aim your blog at just fellow Kurds, because there are many people who care about Kurdish human rights other than Kurds. Those people aren’t usually Israelis, I admit, more like European leftists and international reporters/ analysts of the Middle East.

    Elizabeth Tsurkov (@Elizrael)

    10 September 2011 at 2:30 PM

  2. Dear Elizabeth,
    Thank you for your response I am answering to. I must also say it is a change in thoughts to know I have a Israeli reader; one not following for political reasons.
    I have added several features including RSS as you suggested. It is most probably that I have not used RSS feeds I neglected including one.
    Indeed, as you mentioned, I would like international analysts of the Middle East to read the posts published here. I guess as the number of articles increase, together with a certain level of quality maintained, more number of such readers will show interest in. My belief in that is that most Kurds write as an appeal to the world which is somewhat boring after many years and especially when looking at the current status the Kurds occupy in the Middle Eastern politics. The nature of my articles will not be such, instead suggest a Kurdish ‘reading’ of the events.
    Thanks again for your comment and I will be happy to receive feedback anytime you have.

    mhusedin

    10 September 2011 at 3:38 PM

    • I don’t find appeals to the world boring, but I must admit that most Kurdish sources I read are like that. I’m subscribed to around 10+ news sites and blogs about Kurdish issues, and most simply document the human rights violations against Kurds and comment on this, which is important too, of course.
      I think a Kurdish perspective is really missing in the international scene. Kurds usually right with appeals, not as equals whose analysis and views should be taken into account. You see many Arabs publishing such analytically blogs (like the Arabist, Jadaliyya, Black Iris of Jordan, The Moor Next Door, etc) and posts and they get world attention (published in Foreign Policy magazine, the Guardian, NY Times, etc), but Kurds rarely do so. The only other analytic Kurdish blog I can think of is Kurdistan Commentary, which is now on an indefinite break, so this is definitely lacking.
      I’m glad I was able to change your mind, but I have to say that most Israelis, whether leftists (like myself) or right wingers (who don’t care about human rights of anyone but Jews) don’t really care about the Kurds. It’s not something that is widely discussed here, and when it’s brought up, it’s usually by opportunistic right wingers who want to shame Turkey about its horrible record when it comes to Kurdish human rights. Leftists are too focused on Palestinian rights to care about anything else and they see Turkey as an ally. Following the recent mess between Israel and Turkey, some leftists organized a mass public apology in front of the Turkish embassy in Tel Aviv. Many of my leftists friends went, but to me, this makes no sense. The core of the relations between Israel and Turkey is the military trade – basically, Israel selling weapons to Turkey to kill/repress Kurds. I’m no supporter of the PKK or any organization that targets civilians, but Turkey is hardly discriminate in its attacks on the Kurds, which often result in civilian deaths and mass displacements (especially in Iraqi Kurdistan). I don’t see why Israel should be helping Turkey do this. I don’t see why we should try to renew such relations with Turkey. We have enough Arab blood on our hands and don’t need to be helping kill Kurds too. But Israeli leftists don’t see the Kurds as having grievances similar to the Palestinian ones, simply because they’re quite ignorant about what’s happening there. Some wouldn’t call Hamas a terror organization, but they call the PKK that way, which makes no sense.


Leave a Reply

